Board of Directors

Paul Aston, President (Term Expires: 05/26)
Lance Abbott, Vice President (Term Expires: 05/24)
Andy Luddeke, Secretary (Term Expires: 05/24)
P. Matthew Boles, Assistant Secretary (Term Expires: 05/26)
David A. Sowell, Director (Term Expires: 05/24)


The District was created by Acts of the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas, May 23, 2007, Regular Session pursuant to Senate Bill 1960 codified as Chapter 8222 of the Texas Special District Local Laws Code.

At the time of the confirmation election, Lamar Improvement District encompassed 368.07 acres. The District annexed 43.55 acres on November 13, 2009. The total acreage of the District is now 411.617 acres. Lamar ID is located entirely within Aransas County, Texas, approximately 10 miles northeast of downtown Rockport (City).

The District consists of two non-contiguous tracts of land. One tract is bounded by Goose Island State Park on the west and St. Charles Bay to the east and south. The second tract of land is bound on the west by State Highway 35 and to the east by Bois D’Arc Street. The District is not located within the corporate limits or extraterritorial jurisdiction of any city.

District Map

District Map (PDF)


The District generally meets on the third Thursday of the month at 3:00 p.m. at the Lamar Volunteer Fire Department, 302 Bois D’ Arc Street, Rockport, Texas 78382.

Please be advised that Board meetings will be held by telephone conference call. Meeting agendas include telephone conference call dial-in number (toll free) and associated access code for all interested persons to join the meeting.